02/13/2023

Happy day-before-Valentine's-Day! And before you ask: no, I don't. Moving on!

A lot has been going on since my last update! First off, I've actually been going to clubs on campus, for once! The gay club meets between my two Thursday classes, and the guitar club meets at 6:30 later the same day. There's also a radio club on campus, but I don't remember where they meet. I'd love to have my own college radio station, though... imagine me, inflicting my music taste on the general population of the campus. Marvelous.

Second off, I now have neighbors! Loud neighbors. Very loud neighbors. They're even British. They blast their music loud as balls through the wall at seemingly random intrevals and it drives me UP THE WALL. I even sent in a noise complaint- and I never lodge formal complaints. Not cause I'm a doormat, but because my tolerance for bullshit is unnaturally high. They've quieted down since I sent it, thankfully. I just wish I had done it sooner.

Third off.. the most important update. The update to end all updates. The update that I've been waiting to make since I made this website. Are you sitting down? I hope you're sitting down.

... There's a drag show happening on campus. In ten days. And I'm auditioning.

You don't understand: there is NOWHERE to do drag back home. I can't drive, I don't have my own room to practice in, and we're in the middle of bumfuck nowhere. This is the best chance I'll ever get of performing! I have everything set up already: my name, my song, my costume... uh, there is one problem though.

... I forgot that I can't dance.

I know what you're thinking: "Kim, you don't need to dance to do drag."- and yes, yes, I know I don't need to, but you don't understand. I have NEVER been good at dancing. Put me on a stage and I can sing and act my ass off- but if you're not giving me choreography and several months to practice, I am just going to be rooted to the same spot the whole time. This, of course, is NOT A GOOD QUALITY TO HAVE WHEN YOU'RE DOING DRAG. Drag is about liveliness! It's about being over-the-top! It's about CAMP, for god's sake! How the fuck can I be any of those things when I have the articulation of a stick?! And as the audition date creeps closer and closer and closer, I can't help but feel more and more hopeless... I don't even have basic choreography ideas! I don't know what I'm supposed to do up there! But I can't just not do it. This might be the only chance I get for a long time to do drag- and if I pass it up, I'll be kicking myself for the rest of my life. It's just a matter of... I don't even know. Getting good as fast as possible? But how do I get good when I don't even know where to start? I've watched so many drag king performances online, and they all make it look so effortless. I get that it's because they've been doing it for so long, but they even make walking around on stage look natural! Where's the tutorial for learning how not to walk like you've got a stick up your ass?! (Or, in my case, a metal rod up my spine).

I'd better get my act together fast. I don't really have a choice otherwise.

(Jesus. What a downer way to end an entry.)