02/28/22

Hello people of the Internet, you get one more update before the end of the month! Aren't I generous. I've been meaning to talk about all the stuff going on for the past two weeks, but I've been too goddamn busy. And stressed. And sleepy. And forgetful. Let's talk!

1. There's a big warehouse that's set to be built in my city. It's ugly and nasty and is already upending everyone in the nearby trailer park, and just about everyone in town is pissed about it. There are literally no upsides besides the fact that the people building the warehouse will make money. The student government organized a big protest at the monthly town meeting (which I attended!), only for us to find out that the warehouse representatives that were supposed to show up not only cancelled, but also rescheduled their appearance to be during spring break when no one was there. I stayed at the meeting with my ride regardless, and everyone there learned the futility of buerarcy as we were told that the only way we can really stop the warehouse from being built is to write to our state senator and pray that they'll suddenly be graced with empathy for poor people. I felt like I was in Breakin 2: Electric Boogaloo- but instead of raising enough money to stop the destruction of the community center, I fell down a flight of stairs and broke all the bones in my legs and a mall was built on my sad, writhing body.

2. On a lighter note, drag auditions were last Thursday! I killed, I think. Only three out of twelve auditioners showed up (me included), but apparently this is... common? Some people sent in audition videos. Some people just sent their act and prayed they got picked. I think those people are losers, and lame, and that they should get on stage and dance like the rest of us. Everyone who I saw perform did a great job, so even if I don't get in, I'm definitely attending the show. It's only been five days since auditions, but I'm already getting antsy. Fingers crossed that I get in. I don't know when I'll get another chance to perform like this.

3. My Copy Editing teacher put forth a challenge to only type with proper grammar for two weeks. Believe it or not, I don't talk like this on other websites, I just like being proper. It makes me feel fancy. :-) It's harder to do it when all my friends are typing super-casually, but I've been managing. It's so hard without my keysmashes, though... what am I supposed to do? Type "LOL" or "LMAO" like a sociopath?

4. My rough draft for my Creative Writing short story is due on Friday. In typical fashion, not only have I not started it, but I have completely changed the plot upon realizing my idea would be TOO LONG for a short story! I really do write too much for my own good. This is why all my recent fanfiction has been over 10K words. I really need to crack down on my work, because the later semesters are only going to get harder from here...