04/06/23

*CRAWLS OUT OF HELL* HI! A LOT HAPPENED! I'm going to be posting a bunch of diary entries over the course of the next few days... for the record, today is the 17th of April. Yes, yes, I know, I'm behind. I'm a busy woman! Final prep is beating my ass right now, okay? Alright, alright, where was I...

If you've been keeping up, today was the day of my FIRST DRAG PERFORMANCE! The days leading up to it were pretty nervewracking. I kept trying to get into the auditorium to practice, but whenever I would, people would already be there! The day before, I was all ready to waltz in there and practice for a few hours, but there was AN ENTIRE BAND warmning up on the stage! I didn't get the stage to myself until THREE HOURS before I was supposed to perform! How fucking scary is that?! I managed to get a good session in, even though people kept walking in on me... which is funny, considering I was in full drag and rubbing a string of fake intestines on my crotch. This is the college expereince that the liberals REALLY want!

I practiced for around an hour or so before heading back to my dorm, showering, and sleeping until I had to get ready (which I really needed, considering I had woken up at six in the morning for my classes... oy vey). The walk to the auditorium was terrifying, and the only reason I didn't end up vibrating out my skin from nerves was because I was looping "Down at Mcdonaldz" by Electric Six the whole time. Truly the height of music to do drag to.

Then I got there, and I got ready, and I sat in the audience waiting for my turn to perform, and...

I DIDN'T FUCK IT UP! I remembered all my last-minute choreography changes, and I didn't have prop malfunctions, and I had SO MUCH GODDAMN FUN. I couldn't really see the crowd because of how bright the stagelights were, but from what I heard, they were all getting a huge kick out of it. Luckily, I got my friend to record my performance so I can show it to my sister when I get home tomorrow. And the rest of the performances were AMAZING, oh my god. I had seen most of them on the 1st during the dress rehearsal, but there were also a bunch I HADN'T seen. The queen before me had a number that ended with her GETTING BEHEADED OFFSTAGE, only to bring a PUPPET VERSION OF HER HEAD ON STAGE WITH HER to lipsync the final chorus! Swear to god, I thought I was completely fucked. How do you follow something like THAT up?!

After the show, all the other performers had a meet and greet. I didn't expect to get too many people coming up to talk to me (Sure, I was good, but was I that good?), but there were actually a few people who came on stage just to take photos with me! There were even people I had never spoken to before who said they had recognized me because they saw me walking around campus before. I thought they might have rememebered me because I wear the same bathrobe whenever I run to the dining hall for food, but they seemed to notice me from, like... the art building? I guess I have more of a presence than I thought. Even after the meet and greet when I was getting dinner at the dining hall out of drag, people still recognized me!

I think the craziest thing that happened was the receptionist at my dorm hall straight-up flirting with me. When she saw me at the meet and greet, she hadn't even known it was me until she got close! I've got tot say... man. I'm not used to getting flirted with. And she was laying it on thick. Even my oblivious ass could tell what she was putting down. Unfortunately, she's the same age as my little sister, which is ... kind of weird for me. I'm twenty at the time of writing this, and I'm not really interested in dating teenagers (Even though she's eighteen... yes, yes, I know she's an adult! I still think it's weird! It's just personal preference). I had a nice time talking to her regardless, and her friends all seem nice. Just as long as I'm not dating them.

Overall... wow. What a goddamn night. I can't wait to do this again the next chance I get.