08/27/22

People of the internet, for the first time ever, I am reporting to you... FROM MY DORM! Despite the college website saying that I had a roommate, I'm the only person here- and today was the last move-in day, so it looks like it'll stay that way for the rest of the semester. Personally, I'm all for it! I get overwhelmed too easily with roommates. Plus, it's not like I'm completely alone in here. I have suitemates! How this college works (at least in this dorm area) is that each dorm room is split into two more rooms, so my suitemates have one room and I have another. My suitemates seem cool so far, and so do the people on my floor. We had a wing meeting today where we talked about stuff we'll be doing semester, and stuff like video game and DND nights were brought up. I'm glad that there's a lot of shit that I can do on campus. Makes me feel like I'm less likely to sit in my room rotting.

Unfortunately, my computer has a crack in it. :( My mom said that it would be completely fine to put it into the car WITHOUT BUBBLE WRAP, despite me telling her repeatedly that it would probably get scuffed up. Ugh. Packing and unpacking was a nightmare, mostly because she made me do it all myself and then got mad when I packed the truck poorly. At least it's all done with now.

Campus living itself is treating me fine enough. We're not allowed microwaves on campus, but the RA's said we can sneak one on campus and hide it. Maybe I'll hide mine in my roommate's wardrobe... if there's anything I miss about home, it's BEING ABLE TO COOK! I miss microwaved ramen! I miss cooking instant brocolli and cheddar rice on the stove! I miss making baked potatoes in the microwave! And I haaaaate not having healthy food on standby that I can just grab. There's a store on campus, but they don't have any fruit or cheese sticks or anything (actually, maybe I just missed it...). Man cannot live on junk food and unhealthy shit alone... I also don't have a fridge, which sucks. Minifridges are expensive as shit for me to rent! I don't even have a job! Oh god, I need to get a job. I'm getting distracted. Anyways, I don't have a fridge so my gallon jug of water goes in front of my fan to keep it cool. I'm a big fan of stumbling out of bed and chugging it like an animal.

There was also a semi-mandated freshman and transfer student hangout (I'm the latter) that I went to, and I actually met some people! And had several decent conversations! It's nice to remember that I know how to talk to people. Two friends and I'm only on my first day here. It's almost like attending social gatherings makes me more likely to meet people... how curious...

Anyways, I need to go to bed. My first class is at eight in the morning on Monday and I don't want to fuck up my sleep schedule.