10/01/2023

And of course, just as I was starting to enjoy my job... things go to shit.

So for context, I'm one of the few people who can actually close the store at night. This was all fine and good for me, since it meant I got scheduled consistently- usually around 4-5 times a week. However, my boss was breathing down my manager's neck to hire more closers. When she did... my hours got slashed baaaaaaad. I went from working several 7 hour shifts a week to getting lucky if I got more than 4 hours a week. It's even worse because I actually like my job! I like organizing things, I'm good at remembering where things go on shelves, I like stocking... not only that, but I'm pretty good at it. And I get to play my music over the speakers. You can't get that shit at Walmart.

I'm looking for a second job as we speak, and I've already heard back from one! Sure, it's only a seasonal position... but it pays pretty nicely. Who knows how much they'll like my interview, but it'd be nice to get a job so quickly after applying.

I've also been thinking a lot about creative projects recently. More specifically, Nanowrimo! In case you don't know, Nanowrimo is a yearly writing challenge, where your goal is to write at least 50k words over the course of November. Which... is... a lot of words. If you had a consistent writing average every day, that'd be around 1.7k words per day for thirty days. I think my record for most words written over a short period of time was 4.5k~ over two days, and that was just because I had the fear of God (and, more importantly, the fear of missing a deadline) in me).

... Which is why I'm glad the scriptwriting version looks easier! Hey, only four pages a day! That's not so bad, right? (I'm going to look back on this and hit myself.)

I've been avoiding the phrase "trying to do Nanowrimo", because I really want to do it! My script idea isn't anything huge and daunting, so it's a great starting project in case I write more scripts in the future. I've had it on the backburner since I was in high school... might as well start it now, right? Of course, there's the problem of it being a romcom. Nothing wrong with that, of course, but romcoms as a genre are something I don't have the most experience with. So, during the time leading up to November, I'll be watching a few of them (famous and not-so-much) and keeping track of what I liked, what I didn't like, and what to steal. Maybe I'll put reviews of them on here...