10/04/22

Damn. Been a while, hasn't it? So much for me trying to update this site weekly...

Anyways, college has been going well! My classes are all great- except 3D Modeling, since every time I try and use Maya I black out and wake up with a C- and I've really been enjoying myself. My roommate hasn't been a problem either- she's quiet, isn't in the room a lot, and the only annoying thing she did was get food poisoning and cause me to crash in my suitemate's dorm. The one thing that's been kind of hard is making friends. Talking to people IRl... admittedly, is not always my strong suit. It doesn't help that there was a pandemic that messed up my already pretty shit social skills, and it doubly doesn't help that it seems like everyone else in my classes are talking to people and making friends just fine. I guess that's the downside of transferring in from community college- so much money saved, and so little social credit to show for it. Sigh.

There have been good things for me, though, I promise! The musical for this year is Heathers, and I'm auditioning for it! It's been... a long, long time since I've done theater. I was a freshman in high school the last time I tried out for a play, and I'm a junior in college now. The hardest part (besides remembering how to go into my head voice, and keeping the right pitch, and finding water that doesn't ruin my throat) is just finding a place to rehearse. I didn't even know we had music practice rooms until today, and there's a week and a half until auditions! Speaking of the auditions, I only just found out today that, besides memorizing a dance number and two song snippets from the musical, I also need to have a one minute song sample from a DIFFERENT MUSICAL. And the director says he wants us to find a song that contrasts the two songs we need to audition with, and since I'm going for JD, that means I need to find something soft and ballad-y, which will be a PAIN. I'm so close to eschewing my dignity and picking a Hamilton song...

If all goes well, I'll have a group of people I can hang out with on a weekly basis. If it doesn't... I'll figure something out. I always do.